Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio

Mikko Innanen – alto & baritone saxophone

Seppo Kantonen – synthesizers

Joonas Riippa – drums

Fredrik Ljungkvist– tenor saxophone & clarinet


Vapaat äänet / Mr. Charles Gil

Office: +358 9 773 1916 Mobile: +358 50 5716 516



November 19-24 Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio Tour de France:

Nov 19 Le Mans
Nov 20 Tours
Nov 21 Angers
Nov 22 La Cave Dimiere, Argenteuil
Nov 23 Lyon
Nov 24 Saint-Hilaire de Brens

March 7-16 Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio 10th Anniversary Tour in Finland




"HEY – if you don’t get another CD this year – GET THIS ONE!  Listeners who can’t be without the latest & greatest in jazz will kick themselves if they overlook this one!" Improvijazznation Magazine

"This is very cleverly composed music, blending different voices and layering sounds seamlessly..." The Free Jazz Collective

Full reviews of Clustrophy:


New York Music Daily

All About Jazz (Eyal Hareuveni)

All About Jazz (Jerry D’Souza)

Canadian Audiophile


Improvijazznation Magazine

Something Else!

The Free Jazz Collective


Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio
TUM CD 025 (2010)

Mikko Innanen alto, baritone and soprano saxophones, Indian wooden clarinet, percussion, whistles, toy instruments
Fredrik Ljungkvist tenor and sopranino saxophones, clarinet
Daniel Erdmann tenor, baritone and soprano saxophones, toy clarinet
Seppo Kantonen synthesizers
Joonas Riippa drums, percussion, pocket trumpet

Clustrophy introduces us to a new incarnation of Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio, a group led by the highly talented and increasingly well-known Finnish saxophonist Mikko Innanen. Whereas the group´s first recording, Paa-da-pap (TUM CD 019) in 2007, featured a quartet of Finns, Clustrophy show-cases a five-piece band with a truly pan-European three-some of saxophonists: Mikko Innanen from Finland, Fredrik Ljungkvist from Sweden and Daniel Erdmann from Germany.

After their debut, Innkvisitio has toured extensively in Europe and in North America meeting both with enthusiastic audiences and critical acclaim. Clustrophy brings a new, somewhat darker and more sophisticated, soundscape to the music, in part because of the evolution of the group´s personnel and the music it plays and perhaps also in part because Clustrophy was recorded in a studio rather than being recorded live as its predecessor.

Innanen, Seppo Kantonen on synthesizers and Joonas Riippa on drums continue to form the nucleus of Innkvisitio that prepares new material together. Although it is Innanen who suggests new compositions or improvisational vehicles, after that, it becomes a collective effort. With Ljungkvist and Erdmann added to the group, it has continued to develop its unique sound with the third saxophonist permitting an increasingly orchestral approach to the music. At times, the group sounds like a much larger ensemble than it actually is.


"Finland was representing, via the fascinating, feisty band Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio, guided by the strong, free-minded alto saxist, and with keyboardist Seppo Kantonen winning special points for originality. Think Ornette Coleman in a honky tonk, updated and glazed with dry Finnish wit." DOWN BEAT



Mikko Innanen & Innkvisitio
TUM CD 019 (2007)

Mikko Innanen alto, soprano and baritone saxophones, percussion, bird sounds, children´s pan flute, yak wakky
Timo Lassy tenor and baritone saxophones, flute, percussion, voice, hand claps
Seppo Kantonen Philicorda electric organ, synthesizer, horn, voice, hand claps
Joonas Riippa drums, percussion, horn, neck glockenspiel

Innkvisitio, led by the highly talented saxophonist Mikko Innanen (who has led or co-led many other groups in the past, including Delirium, Triot, Gourmet and Nuijamiehet and has worked with the likes of Han Bennink, Andrew Cyrille, Joe Fonda, Lou Grassi, Ingrid Jensen, William Parker, Herb Robertson and John Tchicai to name but a few), is an energetic quartet of musicians in search of a unique new sound based upon Innanen´s multi-faceted compositions.

Mikko Innanen, pianist Seppo Kantonen, who performs exclusively with synthesizers in Innkvisitio, and drummer Joonas Riippa form the nucleus of Innkvisitio, with saxophonist Timo Lassy joining Innanen in the front line on this recording. Each of these four musicians is much sought-after on the current Finnish jazz scene but Innkvisitio may well be the most adventurous of their many groups.

Their debut, Paa-Da-Pap, captures the group during an innovative and vital phase, touring across Finland, as it is extracted from hours upon hours of music recorded during that tour. The album title refers to an onomatopoetic extract of a birdsong as perceived by Innanen, an analogy quite fitting to the band's organic concept of sound.


painting by Piret Rohusaar




©2013 mikkoinnanen.com